Celebrating Excellence in Skills for Nuclear

The nuclear industry held its tenth annual UK Nuclear Skills Awards on the 15th March.  During the evening the nuclear stars of the present and future were announced.

The awards, organised by NSAN and Cogent Skills, were hosted by TV presenter Julia Bradbury. The event brought the nuclear industry together to celebrate the success and high achievement of individuals nominated for awards in Apprentice and Graduate disciplines.

The Main Sponsor on the evening was NuGen. NuGen is a new nuclear development company which aims to build, operate, and eventually decommission Moorside Power Station, near Sellafield in west Cumbria.

Above (l-r) David Peattie, CEO of award sponsor NDA, Benjamin Crane, Julia Bradbury and Chris Lloyd from URENCO UK.

The top award of the evening was the heavily contested UK Nuclear Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by the NDA, which was won by Benjamin Crane from URENCO UK.  Benjamin also won the Engineering Apprentice of the Year category, which was sponsored by EDF Energy.

Benjamin Crane collecting the Engineering Apprentice of the Year award. Pictured above (l-r) Mike Harrison, Chief Nuclear Officer Region One from award sponsor EDF Energy, Benjamin Crane, Julia Bradbury and Chris Lloyd from URENCO UK.

Benjamin completed his apprenticeship in Process Engineering Maintenance and currently works as a Decommissioning & Recycling Craft Technician.

During his apprenticeship Benjamin was awarded Apprentice of the Year twice, from both his employer and training provider. He also took part in an Environmental Noise Management Project, working with the local community. Benjamin is a keen STEM Ambassador involved in many STEM initiatives.

The UK Nuclear Apprentice of the Year was decided from the winners of the apprentice discipline awards as follows: 

Taking the title of Business Service Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by Ultra Electronics, was Amy Mayor from BAE Systems Submarines.  Amy completed her apprenticeship in Project Management and currently works as a Senior Project Engineer in Nuclear Manufacturing.

Pictured above (l-r) Rikki Douglas, Sales and Marketing Manager from award sponsor Ultra Electronics, Amy Mayor, Julia Bradbury and Helen Wharton from BAE Systems Submarines.

Taking the title of Manufacturing Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by the Nuclear AMRC, was Aidan Bennett from Sellafield Ltd.  Aidan completed a Mechanical Manufacture Engineering and Mechanical Maintenance apprenticeship and currently works as a Manufacture Machinist.

Pictured above (l-r) Roger Lewis, Sellafield Ltd, Rt Hon Richard Caborn, Strategic Advisor for award sponsor Nuclear AMRC who presented the award, Aidan Bennett and Julia Bradbury.

The Scientific Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by AWE, was awarded to Daniel Hagan from Sellafield Ltd. Daniel completed a Nuclear Health Physics Monitor apprenticeship and currently works as a Health Physics Monitor.

Pictured above (l-r) Richard Orme, Sellafield Ltd, Harry Collins an apprentice who presented the award on behalf of award sponsor AWE, Daniel Hagan and Julia Bradbury.

The Science Graduate of the Year, sponsored by ECITB was awarded to Naomi Pulfrey from BAE Systems Submarines.  Naomi completed a Masters in Chemistry and currently works as a Product Safety Graduate

Pictured above (l-r) Joanne Hoyland BAE Systems Submarines, Chris Claydon Chief Executive who presented the award on behalf of award sponsor ECITB, Naomi Pulfrey and Julia Bradbury

Taking the title of Engineering Graduate of the Year, sponsored by Sellafield Ltd, was James Cross from BAE Systems Submarines.  James completed a Masters in Mechanical Engineering and currently works as a Systems Engineer.

Pictured above (l-r) Heather Roberts, HR Director from award sponsor Sellafield Ltd, Joanne Hoyland from BAE Systems Submarines, James Cross and Julia Bradbury.

The award for Postgraduate Student of the Year, sponsored by Wood, was awarded to Charlotte Burman from the Ministry of Defence. Charlotte works as a Nuclear Project Engineer.  Charlotte also created and is Chair of the Young Nuclear Safety
Professionals’ Forum.

Pictured above (l-r) David Boath, Vice President Technical & HSSEA who presented the award on behalf of award sponsor Wood, Richard McMeekin from MoD, Charlotte Burman and Julia Bradbury.

There were two winners of the STEM Ambassador Award, sponsored by BAE Systems Submarines.  Lauren Eastburn and Beth Howarth-Henry, both from BAE Systems Submarines were awarded with the title for their work through the G-Eng (Guides in Engineering) project team which has developed the first ever engineering badge for the Guides called Clever Cogs.

Pictured above (l-r) BAE Systems representative, Adam Hearnden, Nuclear Safety Director who presented the award on behalf of award sponsor BAE Systems Submarines, Lauren Eastburn, Beth Howarth-Henry and Julia Bradbury.

Jo Tipa, Managing Director of NSAN said:

“The UK Nuclear Skills Awards highlights the exceptional quality of people of all levels, who are committed to careers in the nuclear sector.   The Dinner also highlights the vital work done by the training and education professionals working in and with the nuclear industry across the UK.

I would like to personally congratulate all of the winners and finalists, they are all inspirational examples of the talent that exists in our sector.  I wish them all the very best for the future.”

Joanna Woolf, CEO of Cogent Skills said:

“Now in their 10th Year, these fantastic Nuclear Skills Awards truly showcase the nuclear sector’s talent. I’m delighted to congratulate all the winners and finalists –  they show us the outstanding quality of people coming into all parts of the nuclear sector who will play a vital role in helping it meet the considerable challenges it faces. I wish each and every one of them the very best for their future careers in this rapidly expanding, strategic industry.”